Interview with horror artist Chris Garofalo!

IMG_20161201_185132.jpg

When did you become a fan of horror and why?
I became a fan of horror at a very early age, watching Sunday afternoon monster movies. Saw The Texas Chain Saw Massacre way too young, and after that I was hooked.

How did you get into art and are you self taught or did you go to school?
Always liked to draw, but didn’t further develop my design skills until college. Honestly I’ve learned more through trial and error and from other artists than any amount of school. Just doing something is the best way to learn it.

You create numerous works of horror, what’s your favourite medium and materials to use?
To create, a mixed bag of sketching and digital tools. For printing, screen print….I just love ink on paper.

Who is your favourite character to use?
My favorite subject/character is whatever I’m working on at the moment.

What’s your favourite piece of work that you have created?
Very hard to pick a favorite, as they’re all near and dear to me for different reasons. But some standouts are Godzilla, Event Horizon, and Halloween.

Have you got any upcoming exhibitions coming up?
I have a few film screenings that I’ve been selected to do the prints for, and conventions will resume spring of 2017.

What are you working on at the moment?
Two prints for upcoming film screenings, that I can’t reveal just yet, and a couple enamel pin designs.

What’s your favourite scary movie?
The Texas Chain Saw Massacre.

You can view and purchase more of Chris’s work on his website http://www.quiltfacestudios.storenvy.com/

Leave a Reply

