Interview with Theresa Braun and book review of her short supernatural story “Dead over heels”

 

Veronica’s first date with Sebastian not only stirs up a powerful attraction, but also a series of supernatural events that will tear them apart.

After countless hours of dead end online dating, Veronica meets up with Sebastian at a reportedly haunted restaurant, since he knows she has a fascination with the paranormal. While enjoying their meals and each other’s company, they share a shocking supernatural experience. Their romantic connection is overshadowed by the ghosts of their own pasts that threaten to destroy their budding relationship. Veronica decides she must return to the restaurant to face her past and dig up more answers. Unfortunately, she realizes she must go back, this time with a reluctant Sebastian. In the end, they join forces against the evil that stands between them, but will they make it out alive?

Although a short story of 38 pages Theresa Braun manages to create a haunting supernatural tale with characters with real depth and dimension in such a sparse amount of pages. “Dead over Heels” is a real page turner and a story that will crumble even the hardest of hearts.

The character Veronica has real substance and likability and deals with the emotional habits of loneliness and the longing to find someone in the modern world of dating. Veronica’s companion comes in the form of Sebastian, it seems like fate but what evil is lurking?

The River House setting allows the reader to fully embrace the eerie transition between life and death and builds up perfect suspense in this unforgettable tale.

“Dead over heels” could perfectly fit in one of Stephen Kings short story anthologies and wouldn’t look out of place. I’m sure if Theresa released an anthology of short stories it could easily rival King!

A supernatural tale with a heart breaking twist that will not disappoint!

RATING : 4.5/5

Amazon link to purchase “Dead over Heels” HERE

Find out more about Theresa HERE

 

INTERVIEW WITH AUTHOR

Did you always want to become a writer and what attracted you to the horror genre?
I’ve always enjoyed the process of creating, whether it be sculpture, painting, or photography. But I’ve also had a fascination with stories. That’s partly because my parents read to me as a child, and there were a few campfire tales which were my first introduction to scary stories. I read lots of dark young adult novels and encyclopedias on the occult. When I got to high school, it was my English teachers and the way they made literature come alive that really hooked me. In college, my lit professors made poems about grass growing the most enthralling thing I’d ever read. As far as writing, I’ve always kept a journal. I ended up minoring in creative writing because studying masters like Shakespeare got me fascinated with the power of words. I wasn’t quite sure what genre I wanted to write in, but I knew I had found the right fit after putting together a few horror tales. It brought me back to my gothic roots.

What inspires you to write?
Pretty much everything. I’m always paying attention to my surroundings. Daily life, news stories, and family incidents are all great sources of inspiration. I just wrote an alien story based on a true account of someone in my family. Also, sometimes the theme of a publication can spark ideas. I’m always on the lookout for magazines and anthology themes that catch my attention.

Who are your favourite authors?
Stephen King is one, and Edgar Allan Poe as well. I love lots of classic writers such as Mary Shelley, Bram Stoker, and Robert Louis Stevenson. I’m also looking forward to the new film adaptation of The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood. That’s such a fantastic work. There are many contemporary authors in my TBR pile.

Can you tell us a little more about your book “Dead over Heels”and where did the idea come from?
I am obsessed with going on ghost tours whenever I travel. Then, I realized there was one right in Ft. Lauderdale where I live. It’s a pretty interesting walking tour, including details of a haunting of Al Capone at one of the local bars. It was on the tour I was captivated by the River House Restaurant and its apparent paranormal phenomenon. Then, I started thinking about what if those hauntings somehow had personal significance. I was doing a lot of online dating at the time, so I decided to explore the concept of a character disenchanted with dating and her supernatural experience on a first date with someone who had promise. It just grew from there.

Who is your favourite character in “Dead over Heels?”
I really like Veronica. There’s a little bit of myself in her, so that’s part of it. She’s snarky and intelligent, but she’s also flawed. Her romantic sensibilities and her fixation on the supernatural seem to contribute to her imperfections. However, when Sebastian shares the sighting of the ghosts, her beliefs in the paranormal are validated. They share more than they realize. That idea of a bigger picture that’s out of our control is something that interests me. How much of our life is chance or circumstance and how much is a result of our choices?

Who would you cast if your book was adapted into a film?
I’d have to see how these selections did in a screen test. Chemistry is definitely important. I’d cast Michelle Williams as Veronica. Sebastian would be played by Tom Hiddleston. Veronica’s parents would be Rufus Sewell and Michelle Pfeiffer; and Sebastian’s dad Dennis Quaid.

What are you currently working on?
I just finished a story called “Heirloom” about a therapist who gets sucked into an antique mirror. It completely shakes up her world. Hopefully, it will be in print over the summer. My current project is for a monster anthology over at Deadman’s Tome. I’m pretty excited. I started looking up some creatures I’d never heard of and chose one that struck my fancy. My choice will remain a secret for the time being, but I can’t wait to sink my teeth into working on it.

What’s your favourite scary book?
There are too many to consider. I suppose my answer would depend on the day. Some days supernatural things freak me out, and other days it’s the fact that real life serial killers are out there. The Exorcist is definitely up there on my list.

What’s your favourite scary movie?
Hands down it’s The Shining. It’s so hard for me to watch it when I’m home alone. After seeing the documentary Room 237, I fell more in love with this film because I learned all kinds of hidden secrets and details that I didn’t know. I highly recommend it.

 

 

Leave a Reply

