Mike G. Kehoe talks with us about his award winning short “Hush” and its upcoming full feature “The Hatred” released later this year by Lionsgate!

Mike G.Kehoe is an award winning director and writer. His terrifying short film “Hush” won numerous awards and praise. “Hush” has now been made into a full feature produced by Halloween producer Malek Akkad and will be released later this year by Lionsgate titled “The Hatred”.

“The Hatred” follows four young women who travel to their college professor’s new country home for a weekend getaway, only to discover that the house has a malevolent past.

You have had a long career in film, working on some great movies. How did your career in film start?
My passion for film started when I was in high school. I put together a stage play, which I can go into detail at another time. But at that moment I knew what it was that I had to do. I moved to California and landed a job working as a production assistant to Sylvester Stallone. The job lasted about 3 months and then I went on to work on a feature film titled Iron Eagle. As time continued and I was exposed to many areas of filmmaking. I investigated all levels and met with many crew members who informed me about their role in the process. I then wrote a short film titled “SECOND DANCE” which went on to premier at the Sundance Film Festival and the Berlin Film Festival. That started the fire for me. I continued to write and direct other short films and two other features.

Your super creepy horror short film “Hush” was a huge success winning 34 awards! For anyone that hasn’t watched “Hush”can you tell us some more? Hush is a small scene from a feature script I wrote. My Cinematographer John Connor and I met and developed the shooting schedule, the look, the entire story to be shown on film that you see is from the work he and I did for about 4 months. We then went into production. We shot the film with anamorphic lenses and no lights. Yes, no lights in the dark. John loved the idea and dove into it. What you see is the result of his creativity. The film is only 5 min and hits you like a lightening bolt with a surprise ending.

Where did you get the idea of “Hush” from?
As mentioned, I wrote the screenplay and wanted to use a scene as a pitch. I shot the scene to present it to studios and production companies as a pitch for the feature.

You are now making “Hush” into a full length feature film titled “The Hatred” that you wrote and directed. Can you tell us more about “The Hatred” and when the trailer and film will be released?
We have now made the short film “Hush” into a feature due out October through Lionsgate. When Lionsgate releases a trailer I will send it along.We shot the feature last summer. You can see the info on imdb

What projects are you currently working on?
I have several that are in development. And I am always looking for great scripts from new writers.

What’s your favourite scary movie?
I have several favorite films of this genre. The wonderful thing about the horror genre, is that you can compare it to 31 flavors of ice cream! There are so many individual themes within the genre. You have ghosts, vampires, monsters, killers, demented or deranged characters, zombies, the list goes on. Not all with blood and guts.
Some of the favorites that come to mind would be “The Changeling” with George C Scott, “The Shining”, “The Exorcist”, “Don’t Breath”, “It Follows”, “Psycho”, “Let the Right One In”, “Rosemary’s Baby”, “The Conjuring”, “28 Days Later” and two of my all time favorites are John Carpenter’s “The Thing” and “Alien”.

Leave a Reply

