Interview with Viktor Makov of Monsterskaya studio!

IMG_20170531_191507.jpg

Viktor Makov is the owner and sculptor of Monsterskaya studio based in Russia. He sculpts your favourite horror villians on everything from busts, phone cases, keyrings and so on.
When did you become a fan of horror?
I became a fan of horror when I was a little boy. My older brother usually watched horror movies and I would watch with him.I loved drawing monsters before I began school around the age of maybe 4 or 5 years old.

Are you self taught or did you attend college?
I’m self taught, I didnt go to college but I attended some classes with prosthetic makeup. Before I started making sculptures I worked with mobile games and drew concepts, characters and 2D animation in Photoshop.

What medium do you use to create your work?
As a basis, I usually use clay (Monsterclay, Nsp) or polymeric clay “Super sculpey” for sculptures and Smoothon materials (resin, silicon …) to mould and print my copies. Sometimes gypsum and latex too.

Where do you get your inspiration from?
I get inspiration from different films and a lot of cool works such as Aris Kolokontes, Jordu Schell, Andy Bergholtz, Rick Baker …

What’s your favourite piece of work so far?
I think that my favorite stuff is the magnet of Evil Ash.

What are your upcoming projects?
In the near future I plan to finish my Zombie Bust, and I have some concepts for latex and resin masks. I also want to go back to prosthetic make-up.

Whats your favourite scary movie?
I think my favorite horror movie is “Evil Dead”.

If you would like to see more of Viktor’s work or make a purchase just click HERE to visit his site.

Leave a Reply

