Interview with Breanna Hill of “Bad Granny Soaps”!!

IMG_20170619_172905.jpg

Breanna Hill is the super cool owner of Bad Granny Soaps. We caught up for a chat!

Visit BAD GRANNY SOAPS HERE

When did you become a fan of horror?
I became a fan of horror when I was a kid. My dad and I used to walk to the video rental store on Friday nights and he would always rent a cheesy 80s horror flick, like troll, pet cemetery, Carrie, critters, the shining Christine, (just to name a few) VHS of course, I also loved older movies like the blob, the birds, psycho, house on haunted hill, attack of the killer tomatoes, and all of the universal monster movies. they’d always scare the shit out of me but I love watching them through my fingers covering my eyes. I also became an Elvira fan thanks to my father. Thanks to Elvira’s cleaver whit and charismatic personality I learned that we could take things that scare us and make a joke about em, then I became a true fan of horror.

Are you self taught or did you attend college?
I am self taught, the only thing I have ever accomplished in school was getting my class A license for truck driving, but I don’t do that any more, because I am a housewife of a hard working husband who works in the oil industry ( greenies don’t hate, oil makes just about everything and the profits feed my kids so save your bullshit) 6 days a week. I have four children and a lot of animals. I stay at home and take care of them all, and I am truly grateful that I am able to do that, cause fuck working a minimalist job just to pay a Nannie to watch my kids. Housewives deserve a lot more respect than they get. So I started making soaps as a hobby/ side hustle.

 

Where do you get the inspiration from to start a business?
I got my inspiration from things that are forgotten, I am a lover of retro, weird, taboo and offensive( just because people are so offended today by everything , it’s ridiculous, what happened to being tough). I love punk rock.(black flag, circle jerks, decendents, the stooges, GG of course) I also love real country music, outlaw county, ( Willie, Waylon, Merle, johnny, hank sr, hank jr and hank 111) I have lots of respect for the hard working middle class. I have this notion that if being a 1950s housewife was still practiced today the world would be a better place. I like to make soaps that might make people think for a minute, like my Chemtrails soap is one of my favorites for that. ( I hate Chemtrails and if you don’t know what they are take you phone away from your face for a minute and look up, see those lines in the sky, they are not normal) haha. ( I don’t know if you have Chemtrails in England but they are a problem here in California! I am also inspired by horror movies!!

What process do you use to create your soaps?
I use melt and pour process, with a twist. But I can’t revile my Bad Granny secrets though.

What’s your favourite piece of work so far?
My favorite Soap I have made so far is my Punk Rock Peppermint Soap, inspiration for that came from one of my all time favorite movies Suburbia.

What are your upcoming projects?
I have some really cool upcoming projects having to do with some 1950s retro style inspiration, I’m working out the kinks right now to make them perfect.

What’s your favourite scary movie?
My favorite scary movie is probably the exorcist, that’s one movie that still gets under my skin, probably because I am long overdue for an exorcism. My favorite monster movie is creature from the black lagoon, it’s a timeless classic!!
I also love evil dead ( had to throw that in there too)😉

 

Leave a Reply

