Interview with “The Sally Hardesty Collection” owner Daniel Rider!

IMG_20170704_170938.jpg

 

Daniel Rider is an Atlanta filmmaker in the US who just launched his first horror-themed pin line, The Sally Hardesty Collection, on Etsy.

When did you become a fan of horror?
I saw the original “A Nightmare on Elm Street” long before I should have and it traumatized and mesmerized me simultaneously. I’ve been a fan of the genre ever since.

Are you self taught or did you attend college?
I graduated from college with a degree in Film and Video and I have a minor in Sociology.

What medium do you use to create your work?
I love video editing and have just released a few horror pins under the banner of “The Sally Hardesty Collection.” They are available for purchase on Etsy at https://www.etsy.com/shop/TheSallyHCollection.

Where do you get your inspiration from?
I’m an INFP personality type if you follow the Myer-Briggs personality types which amongst many other things tells me that “I’m attracted to sad things.” There is a lot of light that can be found in darkness and a lot of truth in sadness but we can overcome our difficult pasts and be all that much stronger for it. It is in that space that I draw much of my inspiration and why I love the horror genre so much. If you boil the genre down to its main ingredients, it’s always the story of good vs evil. I believe we carry both, good and evil, within all of us. Those of us who can confront our fears and our own personal demons will always come out all the wiser for it.

What’s your favourite piece of work so far?
I’m very proud of The Sally Hardesty Collection’s sophomore pin that is inspired by one of my favorite horror movies, “Suspiria.” It sparkles and glows in the dark and is just a beautiful pin. I really adore it so I hope other Argento fans will fall in love with it too. I also love our Daria Nicolodi pin that is inspired by Mario Bava’s Shock. I knew that one was kind of a deep dive but sometimes it’s just gratifying to multiply what’s out there of things you personally love.

What are your upcoming projects?
I have a really wicked Michael Myers pin coming out July 7th. Right now, I am developing pin #7 and my fiancĂ© is designing his own action pin for the line. Both are inspired by horror sequels from the ’80’s. As far as any further horror pins, I’ll have to see if sales continue to grow as I am just establishing myself in the market. I am also currently in production on a documentary that my partner and I are producing about the lives of two unconventional gay men who were horrifically murdered in the ’80s and how the media destroyed their characters by unjustly lumping them into the “Satanic Panic” that was happening at the time.

What’s your favourite scary movie?
The original A Nightmare on Elm Street. Nothing compares with your first!

One thought on “Interview with “The Sally Hardesty Collection” owner Daniel Rider!

  1. Awesome interview. I am the proud owner of Daniel’s first pin and look forward to his success as an artist.

Leave a Reply

